Machine Embroidery Workshop

Good afternoon Stitchers,

 

So I promised you a special post about one of our upcoming workshops, so here it is!

This Saturday (6th July) we are super excited to be running a workshop with Claire Muir in Free Machine Embroidery! This is definitely a technique for turning stitchery into beautiful art. Just look at this:

Lovely machine embroidery

Lovely machine embroidery

This course is aimed at complete beginners, or for those who have dabbled but been put off. Most importantly, it’s suitable for people who would love to learn free machine embroidery! The course will teach you the basics of free machine embroidery, how to get started and also problem solving once you get going. Claire will demonstrate a variety of techniques which show just how versatile free machine embroidering is, and you will finish the workshop with a selection of samples to take home and admire!

Look at all that lovely stitchy texture! I wouldn't mind taking a sample home like that!

Look at all that lovely stitchy texture! I wouldn’t mind taking a sample home like that!

Claire trained in Chichester and at the Glasgow School of Art before embarking on a career in embroidery. After previously making embroidered lace hats, and also providing hats and headdresses for theatrical companies, Claire now creates individual tiaras, fascinators and headdresses using embroidery, feathers, wire and beads (and quite spectacular they are too!). She exhibits her work nationally, as well has having articles published in magazines such as Sewing World and Stitch Magazine. Now that sounds like the sort of career I’d like once I finish my textiles degree!

With Claire’s experience, I expect this workshop will be fabulous. I’m taking part myself (lucky me!) and I can’t wait. I may even raid my own scrap stash to bring along to play with. There are still a couple of places left on the course, so if you’d like to join us and share my fabric scraps then give us a call on 0121 314 6888. The course is running this Saturday 6th July 10:30am – 1pm and the cost of the course is £30 including materials & refreshments.

 

I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

