New Yarn – Milla Mia Naturally Soft Aran

I am so excited about the new yarn that arrived this week. I have long been a fan of Milla Mia’s original Naturally Soft Merino yarn. The great stitch definition and incredible softness make it a favourite of mine for many projects. So when I found out they were releasing a new yarn, I knew that we just had to stock it.

The yarn arrived yesterday and I must say, it has exceeded my expectations. Milla Mia Naturally Soft Aran is a standard aran weight yarn which knits to a tension of 18 stitches and 24 rows per 10cm on 5mm needles. There are 80m/87yards per 50g ball and it costs £5.50. It is composed of 100% extrafine merino wool making it super soft and squishy.IMG_1028There are 16 stunning shades from jewel brights to sophisticated neutrals. I am particularly in love with the striking Teal and the complexity of Latte.

There are also two brand new pattern books. Finishing Touch is a collection of 14 accessory patterns for adults. These range from fingerless mitts to cowls to bags and pencil cases. Many of the patterns require only 1 or 2 balls of yarn making them affordable knits great for presents. There are detailed instructions and fabulous photography which makes it a really inspirational book to flick through. Tiny Treasures contains 13 patterns for the small person in your life. There are blankets and a cushion to decorate the nursery plus jumpers, socks and even a baby grow. Some of the garment patterns are sized up to 5 years which allows the book to grow with the child. The pattern books cost £12 each.lapp_blanket_Fotor_Collage

It was hard to choose only a few patterns to show you but in the end I went with the Lapp Blanket and Bosse Cardigan from Tiny Treasures and the Pontus Pencil Case from Finishing Touch.

Of course, I had to cast on immediately. After a lot of deliberation I went with the Elika Wristwarmers in Stone and Ochre. I love how there are coming out, the stitch pattern makes for a wonderfully dense textural knit and the aran yarn means they’re knitting up really quickly.IMG_1029 I can see myself enjoying this yarn for a long time, I wonder what I should knit next…

Leave a Reply

